Those beautiful Welsh vowels….

So it’s been over a month since I last posted.  I am hugely sorry!  I had a bunch of real life happen between getting sick, designing, opening, and closing a show, and conveniently getting sick AGAIN right after.  Apparently I’m not allowed to work on cosplay….

I know I owe you all a post about researching and sourcing fabrics, using Femme Eight, and it will happen, but that is going to require more brain power than I currently have.  Instead, I’ve got updates on my current TO DOs and initial research for a “quick ‘n’ dirty” cosplay for TARDIS in November.  Be sure to check out my Facebook album of planned/hopeful cosplays to see what has changed (and changed a bit it has).

While Victorian Femme Eight is already in the process of slowly being built, sadly, Steampunk Femme Ten will most likely NOT happen for Chicago TARDIS, if at all.  I have a lot going on, other priorities, and have generally shifted away from Femme or Female portrayals in cosplay for personal reasons (nothing bad, actually VERY good things, just personal).  On top of that, my cosplay budget has had to shrink so I have to rethink some of my plans and focus on the “cheaper” costumes/characters for a little while.  So for now, my short-term goals are updating Jaq Harkness, building Wash, and researching and building Ianto Jones.  I’m hoping to bring both Jaq and Ianto to TARDIS, along with Femme Eight.

 

Progress Reports

Victorian Femme Eight:

I haven’t done A TON yet, BUT all of the fabric & materials have been ordered and I started building the undergarments.  I’m currently waiting on a friend to be free to help me with the corset, so once that is built, everything is based on that and should move relatively quickly.  I DID find replica fabric of the waistcoat, which was the hardest material to match, so I am super excited.  I’ll get more into sourcing next blog, I promise.

Captain Jaq Harkness:

  • Find 1-2 new pair of slacks – better fitted and NOT pinstripe New pair is a little big, but the right dark charcoal and fit WAY better.
  • Pick up 1-2 more shirts (light blue and either a 2nd dark blue or go for the sea foam green with red braces)
  • Do additional research to determine correct # of coat buttons (I keep seeing a coat with 10 buttons, not 8 and I’m confused) Looks like it is 10 buttons.  I’ll have to see if I have any spares, or maybe steal the big ones off the sleeves.
  • Build silver earpiece
  • Build a waistcoat or two. Done, but need to be rebuilt since I’ve lost weight and will no longer be doing a Genderswap version, but a male version.
  • Build ‘Doctor Detector’ jar.
  • Build leather Vortex Manipulator.
  • Seriously considering dying my hair down to a rich chestnut-brown, though probably only temporary.  It would be good for Jaq, Ten, & Eight.  *ponder* This is happening.  Going to experiment with short term dyes soon.
  • Work on posing and mannerisms.
  • Find a Ianto to make me tea while I work.  ^.^ Ok, I haven’t found a Ianto for my Jack, but I am building a Ianto for other Jacks, AND I found another 10.  😀
  • Find/purchase new boots.

Hoban ‘Wash’ Washburne:

  • Orange zippered flight suit (Sourced. Needs to be ordered, dyed, & distressed)
  • Brown long-sleeved undershirt
  • Black mesh multi pocket vest
  • Black boots (share with Jack?)
  • Plastic dinosaurs (Purple Stegosaurus & Orange/Rust T-rex)
  • Plastic Scale Model of Serenity (so I can fly it around Cons like a 6-year-old with a toy plane.  Dead Serious.)

Initial Research

While my extroverted/public side tends to stray towards Jack, as generally an introvert, I’ve always sympathized, been intrigued by, and felt some kinship with Ianto Jones, Jack’s team member, and eventual partner, in Torchwood.

images (1)

There aren’t enough well-dressed Teaboy-Soldiers in the world.

He experiences ONE HELL of a character arc over the course of three seasons, despite not being a primary character for at least the first half of season one.  He’s calm, collected, snarky, BRILLIANT, can reign in Jack, generally holds the team together, and dresses like the classy badass he is.  And even 3 years after he was killed off, the shrine to him still stands in Cardiff.

The real question would be WHICH Ianto outfit to use.  His overall look is generally always the same, but so many great & memorable combinations….

images (3)

End of Season 1: “Captain Jack Harkness” (I already have most of this)

images (2)

Season 2:  “To the Last Man”

S-01515

Season Two: “Fragments”

tumblr_luuk3otbO71r1w5ynSeason Three: “Children of Earth”

Children-of-Earth-Day-4-stills-torchwood-6840181-2052-1368

Season Three: “Children of Earth”

The beauty of a Ianto cosplay is that anything I buy/build/put together I will wear in real life.  I greatly admire that style of attire and tend to dress similar 40-50% of the time (less suit coat, more Chucks though).

  • Tailored Pinstripe 3-piece Suit OR Slacks & Waistcoat (for more Action Ianto)
  • Dress Shirt
  • Tie
  • Dress Shoes
  • Belt
  • Hand Gun
  • Stun Gun
  • Ear Piece (use Jaq’s black wrap ear piece)
  • Coffee Cup  😉
  • Pocketwatch/Stopwatch

So there we are. I know its not the informative, educational blog you were looking forward to, but I’m a bit busy and a bit under the weather.  And I tried.  I swear.  Plus everyone is ramping up for GenCon and/or Dragon*Con and it makes me just a tad sad I can’t go.  *pout*

You still love me, right?  😉

Catch you guys later!

-B/Jaq.

 

Leave a comment